DWI / DUI - Driving while Intoxicated
I’ve been practicing DWI Law for over 17 years, with numerous of successful cases to my name. My clients can count on my Criminal Law expertise to manage the legal framework supporting their endeavors. I have handled cases all over the country. I am a NHTSA SFST (Standardized Field Sobriety Test) Practitioner, which means that I have taken the same class that the police officers have taken. I have numerous chemical and medical experts that I work closely with. The majority of my cases are in Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendal, Kerr, Atascosa, Medina, Williamson and Travis counties. However, I regularly travel throughout the State of Texas, central Texas, North Texas, Gulf Coast and the hill country.
NHTSA SFST (Standardized Field Sobriety Test) PractitionerIt's no surprise, every year the state of Texas gets tougher against those accused of drinking and driving. Penalties are getting harsher and enforcement is reaching new levels. A drunk driving conviction in Texas is an incredibly serious matter. Even first-time offenders face jail time, driver's license suspension, considerable DWI penalties and fines. If you have been charged with drinking and driving, an experienced and skilled attorney can effectively protect your rights and your freedom. At the Law Offices of George B. Dombart, we have successfully represented countless clients charged with DWI/DUI in Texas. Attorney Dombart has more than 17 years of experience in the area of criminal defense. He is AV-rated under Martindale-Hubbell's peer review rating system. You can rely on him to provide a solid and thorough defense on your behalf.
What Happens when I'm charged?When you're charged with DUI / DWI, you're faced with two simultaneous charges: a criminal charge and an administrative penalty. Both can lead to a suspension of your driver's license. The administrative charge is directly related to your driver's license. It's important that you contact us immediately upon a DWI charge. Both of these must be handled appropriately to minimize the impact on your right to drive and your right to a proper defense in a court of law.
What Happens if I'm Found Guilty?The minimum jail time in Texas for driving while intoxicated is 72 hours. If there's an open container of alcohol in your possession or in the vehicle, the minimum jail time is at least six days. Additionally, first time offenders will have their driver's license suspended from 90 days to a year. In order to reinstate your license after suspension, there's an additional $125 fee. Each subsequent DWI charge will extend the suspension period and associated fines.
DWI / DUI is a serious charge and must be treated seriously. Don't delay, contact us immediately to discuss your case.
Common Drunk Driving DefensesAs soon as our firm accepts your case, we will conduct a thorough investigation into your charge to develop an effective defense, whether this is your first or multiple DWI charge. Often, the defense will be determined if the charge involved:
- Illegal search and seizure: Unfortunately, it is not uncommon for a traffic stop to ultimately prove invalid. If the officer has no probable cause, he or she cannot stop your vehicle. Additionally, if the search violates your rights under the Fourth Amendment, any evidence gained through the search is considered inadmissible.
- Faulty or inaccurate breath test results: Often, breath test results can be called into question by asking training or procedural questions. Was the officer properly trained on the operation of the machine? Was the machine cleaned, stored and calibrated properly between uses? Were there elements present (paint fumes, vomit, medication) that influenced the results?
Contact a Texas DUI Defense Lawyer
No more posts to load.
Load More Posts